Make your own free website on

Five Civilized Tribes - A term used for the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole Indians in Oklahoma because of their advance along the "white man's road."

This group was formed some years after the five tribes were given territory west of the Mississippi River.  At that time the combined population was 84, 507 and the total acreage assigned them was 19,475,614 acres, or about 230 acres for each man, woman and child.  Their territory was as large as the state of South Carolina.

As most were slaveholding tribes they were forced to free their slaves after the Civil War.  In 1907, when Oklahoma was admitted to the Union, the tribes lost their independence and the Indians became citizens of the state.

Related Information within this Site
[ Cherokee ][ Chickasaw ][ Choctaw ]
[ Creek ][ Indian Territory ][ Seminole ][ Slaves ]